Submissions for the Wainwright Prize 2017 are now closed. If you have any problems or queries with your submission please email

The prize, named after renowned fell walker; Alfred Wainwright seeks to reward the best writing on the outdoors, nature and UK-based travel writing and is sponsored by Wainwright Golden Beer.

After winning the prize in 2016 The Outrun by Amy Liptrot became a Sunday Times Non-Fiction Bestseller.

The eligibility period covers all new UK travel, nature and outdoors-focussed writing published for the first time between 1st April 2016 and 31st March 2017.

Key planned dates for 2017 Prize:

24th Feb – submissions open
31st March – submissions close
29th June – shortlist launch
rd/4th August – winner announced

The judging panel for the prize will be chaired by broadcaster and presenter; Julia Bradbury and a £5,000 prize fund will be presented to the winning book.
Key partners for the prize, set up by publishers Frances Lincoln, include; The National Trust, BBC Countryfile & The Wainwright Society.