The Thwaites Wainwright Prize 2014 Shortlist Announced

April 10, 2014

Publishers Frances Lincoln in association with the National Trust, are delighted to announce the shortlist for The Thwaites Wainwright Prize, a new annual award that seeks to reward the best UK nature and travel writing. New Titles in any format published during 2013 were eligible for entry to the 2014 Prize.

The shortlisted titles are:

Badgerlands, Patrick Barkham, Granta
The Old Ways, Robert Macfarlane, Penguin Books
Walking Home, Simon Armitage, Faber
Field Notes from a Hidden City: An Urban Nature Diary, Esther Woolfson, Granta
Under Another Sky, Charlotte Higgins, Jonathan Cape
The Green Road into the Trees: A Walk Through England, Hugh Thomson, Windmill, Random House

The winner’s announcement will take place 8th May 2014 at The Royal College of Surgeons’ Library in Central London, with the winning author receiving a £5,000 prize.

This year’s Chair of the panel of judges is Dame Fiona Reynolds, Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge and former Director-General of the National Trust. The judging panel for the 2014 award is Sally Palmer, National Trust Magazine; David Johnson, The Wainwright Society; Nigel Roby, The Bookseller; Fergus Collins, BBC Countryfile and Tony Maher, Stanfords.

Dame Fiona Reynolds, Chair, The Thwaites Wainwright Prize, said: “Already the competition for this prize has evoked strong emotions: nature writing tugs at the heart and stimulates the spirit. From an impressive long list encompassing a wide range of nature writing, it was a tough choice for the judges to whittle it down to the six that have been shortlisted. The competition was intense: all the books have attracted a high level of critical attention. In the end, our choice tended towards those that lie at the heart of the genre, where the quality of writing and the author’s capacity to evoke place and distinctiveness combine to create a readable, evocative and connected story.”

The Thwaites Wainwright Prize was established in memory of celebrated fell-walker and travel writer, Alfred Wainwright (1907-1991), and is sponsored by iconic Lancastrian Craft-Brewery Thwaites and their multi-award winning, bestselling golden beer called ‘Wainwright Ale.’

Stanfords and The National Trust are official campaign partners with many of their retail outlets promoting the Prize. The National Trust cares for much of the iconic Lake District landscapes described in Wainwright’s guides.

Sally Palmer, Editor, National Trust Magazine, commented: “The National Trust was founded almost 120 years ago in the belief that the experience of beauty is a fundamental human need to which everyone has a right. This exciting new partnership is an opportunity to celebrate the landscapes that make this nation so special, the experiences they make possible and the literature they have inspired.”

Back to News