New Wainwright Prize 2015​ Nominations

January 17, 2015

We now invite the UK book industry to make their nominations for the 201​5​ Wainwright Prize​​​. This is the 2nd year for the prize whi​ch seeks the best UK-based NATURE & TRAVEL writing.

The Wainwright Prize for Nature and Travel Writing 201​5, is sponsored by Thwaites and is awarded in association with The National Trust.

The prize will be awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values of Great British writing & culture and a celebration of the Outdoors.​ Last year’s winner was The Green Road Into the Trees by Hugh Thomson​

A £5,000 prize fund will be presented to winning book. The judging panel will be chaired by Dame Fiona Reynolds, current Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge and former Director-General of The National Trust, and will feature representatives from Countryfile TV & ​Magazine, specialist retailers; Stanfords, The Wainwright Society, The Bookseller Group & The National Trust.

Authors can be from any country, but the book should be narrative driven with a ​subject must be related to nature, the outdoors or travel writing (not guidebooks) ​covering Great Brit​ain.

​Only ​Books ​first ​published in the UK in ​any format in the calendar year 201​4​ are eligible.

Publishing companies generally select one person to make nominations.

Nominations must be made online, no later than midnight 1​9th ​December​ 2014, via our submissions page

​From the submissions, several independent experts from the trade and members of the Wainwright Society will elicit a Long List of 12 titles.

Publishers will be confidentially informed of the confirmed​ Long List during w/c ​19th January and asked to send books to the official judges. A shortlist of 6 titles will be released to the media ​on March 26th with the winner announced on April 22nd 2015.

Nomination Procedure

Please nominate for the awards ​online giving the following precise information:

1. Title
2. Author
3. Imprint
4. Publication Date
5. Current Format
6. Your name, company, telephone, email.

​IMPORTANT: ​ONE copy of every nominated title should be sent simultaneously to: ​WAINWRIGHT AWARDS C/O; ​Agile Marketing, Magnolia House, 172 Winsley Rd, Bradford-on-Avon, BA15 1NY

While there is no limit on nominations, please nominate only those titles you feel have a good chance of winning.

Back to News