The Thwaites Wainwright Prize reveals 2015 shortlist

March 26, 2015

Publishers Frances Lincoln, in association with the National Trust, has today announced the shortlist for The Thwaites Wainwright Prize 2015, an annual award that showcases the best books in UK nature and travel writing.

The shortlisted titles are:

Running Free: A Runner’s Journey Back to Nature, Richard Askwith (Vintage/Yellow Jersey)
The Moor, William Atkins (Faber & Faber)
Claxton: Field Notes from a Small Planet, Mark Cocker (Vintage)
Meadowland, John Lewis-Stempel (Transworld)
H is for Hawk, Helen Macdonald (Vintage)
Rising Ground: A Search for the Spirit of Place, Philip Marsden (Granta)

Celebrating the legacy of renowned British nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the Prize reflects his core values of inspiring people to explore the outdoors, whilst engendering a love of landscape and respect for nature.

The 2015 shortlist successfully showcases the breadth of experience the British countryside provokes in contemporary literature today, with the six writers drawing inspiration from a variety of interactions with the natural world around them.

Worth £5,000, the 2015 Prize is judged by a panel that includes: chair Dame Fiona Reynolds, current Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge and former director general of The National Trust; Nigel Roby, chief executive and publisher of The Bookseller; Paul Evans, broadcaster and nature writer; Fergus Collins, editor of BBC Countryfile magazine; Bill Lyons, TV executive editor of Countryfile, Secret Britain and Coast; and Katie Bond, publisher at the National Trust.

Commenting on the shortlist, chair of judges Dame Fiona Reynolds, said:

“From wild moorlands to quaint meadows, the shortlist for the Thwaites Wainwright Prize 2015 reflects both the vast variety of landscapes within the UK and the phenomenal creative work this inspires. Featuring previous award winners – like the Costa Book of the Year, H is for Hawk – alongside award debutantes, these six shortlistees show that nature writing in the UK is as strong as ever.”

Sponsored by iconic Lancastrian Craft-Brewery, Thwaites, which produces a bestselling beer called Wainwright Ale, the 2014 prize was awarded to The Green Road into the Trees by Hugh Thomson.

Stanfords and The National Trust are official campaign partners with many of their retail outlets promoting the Prize. The National Trust looks after much of the iconic Lake District landscapes described in Wainwright’s guides.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 22 April, 2015.

Back to News