The Wainwright Prize seeks to reward the best writing on the outdoors, nature and UK-based travel writing and is sponsored by Wainwright Golden Beer.

The prize will be awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values of Great British writing and culture and a celebration of the outdoors.

The shortlist can be explored HERE

Key Dates:

Submissions Open – 4th March

Submissions Close – 8th April

Longlist announcement – 5th June 

Shortlist Announcement – 2nd July

Ceremony – 15th August

Previous winners include Adam Nicolson with The Seabird’s Cry in 2018 and Where the Poppies Blow by John Lewis-Stempel in 2017.