The Wainwright Prize now has two prizes: UK Nature Writing and Writing on Global Conservation. The prize seeks to reward the best writing on the outdoors, nature, the environment and UK-based travel writing.

Key Dates:

Submissions Open – 20th March

Submissions Close – extended until 24th April

Longlist announcement – 5th June 

Shortlist Announcement – 30th July

Ceremony – 30th August

Previous winners include Robert Macfarlane for Underland in 2019, Adam Nicolson with The Seabird’s Cry in 2018 and Where the Poppies Blow by John Lewis-Stempel in 2017.