The prize, named after renowned fell walker; Alfred Wainwright seeks to reward the best writing on the outdoors, nature and UK-based travel writing and is sponsored by Wainwright Golden Beer.

The winner of The Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize 2018 was The Seabird’s Cry by Adam Nicolson.

The Shortlist for the 2018 prize can be exploredhere.

Key dates for 2018 Prize:

5th Feb – submissions opened
16th March – submissions closed
5th July – shortlist launched
2nd August – winner announced

The judging panel for the prize was chaired by broadcaster and presenter; Julia Bradbury and a £5,000 prize fund will be presented to the winning book.
Key partners for the prize, set up by publishers Frances Lincoln, include; The National Trust, BBC Countryfile & The Wainwright Society.

Each title successfully shortlisted attracts a levy of £875 per title, to cover the costs of the design, printing and distribution of the official POS to libraries & retailers. There is no charge for submissions.

Please send 2 copies of all submitted titles to: Agile Ideas, Studio 10, Glove Factory Studios, Brook Lane, Holt, Wilts, BA14 6RL

If you have any problems or queries with your submission please email |