Writing on Global Conservation

This year’s prize has been extended to include a second category for books about global conservation and climate change. In the midst of a global pandemic, coupled with the ongoing climate crisis, the prize feels more timely than ever as we are all recognising the restorative role that nature plays and how urgently we need to protect it.

The Chair of Judges for the new Global Conservation Prize is BBC Countryfile presenter, Charlotte Smith. She is joined by Chris Packham, naturalist and TV presenter; John Lewis Stempel, previous winning author; Adrian Phillips, conservationist; Rachel Woolliscroft, sustainability expert; and Craig Bennett, CEO UK Wildlife Trusts.

The Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation:
The books in this category will reflect efforts in or, studies relating to conservation or climate change as it affects nature and the outdoors. They should be narrative driven and could be global in scope.

Key Dates:
Submissions open – 20th March
Submissions close – extended until 24th April
Longlist Announcement – 5th June – World Environment Day
Shortlist Announcement – 30th July
Ceremony – 9th September