The Wainwright Prize

For Uk Nature Writing

The Wainwright Prize for UK nature writing recognises narrative driven titles with a subject that must be related to nature, the outdoors or travel writing (not guidebooks) covering Great Britain and Northern Ireland as a central theme. With nature writing enjoying a golden age in the UK, each year our shortlist is stronger and more diverse that ever before. In recent years, our winner has invariably made the bestseller list subsequent to being awarded the prize.

The 2021 Shortlist

Thin Places
Kerri ní Dochartaigh
The Wild Silence
Raynor Winn
The Screaming Sky
Charles Foster
Seed to Dust
Marc Hamer
I Belong Here
Anita Sethi
Charlie Gilmour
English Pastoral
James Rebanks
The 2020 Winner

The Diary of a Young Naturalist


Dara is a young star of the conservation movement, and Diary of a Young Naturalist – assured, mature and sensitive – is sure to break the mould of modern “nature writing” and cause a media stir. Already lined up for many major media and festival appearances, and with much interest from publications all around the world, the book is already set to be the break-out title of 2020.