The Wainwright Prize Submissions is now closed.

Closing date: 28th March

Only books first published in the UK between 1st June 2023 – 31st May 2024 are eligible.

If the book is not currently published, but is due to be published before 31st May 2024, we accept manuscripts and proofs.

Authors/illustrators can be from any country as long as the title is published or readily available to all bookshop outlets in the UK (written in or translated into English).

Consent must be obtained from authors, illustrators and any contributors by publishers before submitting titles.

Award categories & Criteria:

The Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing – recognises narrative-driven titles that reveal and celebrate all aspects of nature and the global outdoors. 

Recent winners include: The Flow by Amy-Jane Beer (Bloomsbury), Goshawk Summer by James Aldred (Elliott & Thompson), Pastoral by James Rebanks (Penguin) and Diary of a Young Naturalist by Dara McAnulty (Little Toller Press).

The Wainwright Prize for Writing on Conservation – recognises narrative-driven titles that make the case for nature conservation or tackling climate change.

Recent winners include: The Lost Rainforests of Britain by Guy Shrubsole (William Collins), Eating to Extinction by Dan Saladino (Jonathan Cape), Entangled Life by Merlin Sheldrake (Vintage) and Rebirding by Benedict Macdonald (Pelagic).

The Wainwright Prize for Children – recognises titles in children’s publishing that emphasise the importance of inspiring young people to engage with nature and the outdoors or understanding the need for conservation or tackling climate change. The book could be illustrated, fiction or non-fiction and for children of any age.

First presented in 2022, the winner was The Biggest Footprint by Rob and Tom Sears (Canongate) and last year’s winner was Leila and the Blue Fox by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, illustrated by Tom de Freston (Hachette  Children’s Group).

The prizes will be awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values and includes a celebration of nature and our natural environment, or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.

The 2024 prize fund for winning authors is being finalised, but as a guide, last year £7,500 was shared and presented to the authors.


Submissions open – 11th March
Submissions close – 28th March
Longlist Announcement – 4th July tbc
Shortlist Announcement – 15th August tbc
Ceremony – 12th September tbc

The longlists in all categories will be defined from the nominations using a combination of the views of Independent Booksellers throughout the UK, specialist nature reviewers and authors.
There will be three separate and independent judging panels for the categories within the prize to select the shortlists and winners. Chairs and panel members to be revealed during May 2024.
Submissions are accepted from all publishers, small, independent or large, and must be accompanied by a copy sent by post to:
c/o WP2024,
Studio 106, Leather Factory Studios, Brook Lane, Holt, BA14 6RL
Each successful title attracts a levy to cover the promotional costs associated with the prize including; the project management, design, publicity, production and print of all the POS material to retailers, including our partners. The exact amount of the levies will be confirmed asap and will be agreed with all successful publishers before the longlist is announced. 
Successful publishers with titles on the longlist will be contacted in May.

Do you have multiple submissions?

To submit titles, please either fill in the online form below or if you are submitting multiple titles you can download the excel file 
– please fill in the excel and email to