Named after nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the prizes are awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values and include a celebration of nature and our natural environment or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.

The Wainwright Prize for UK nature writing:
The book should be narrative driven with a subject that must be related to nature, the outdoors or travel writing (not guidebooks) covering Great Britain and Northern Ireland as a central theme.

The Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation:
The books in this category will reflect efforts in or, studies relating to conservation or climate change as it affects nature and the outdoors. They should be narrative driven and could be global in scope.

Key Dates: 

Submissions open – 29th March
Submissions close – 23rd April
Longlist Announcement – 24th June
Shortlist Announcement – 4th August
Ceremony – 7th September TBC


Latest News

Wainwright Prize for writing on Nature and Conservation secures new 3-year sponsorship with James Cropper Paper

July 21, 2021

The Wainwright Prize for UK Nature and Conservation Writing, is delighted to announce the agreement of a 3-year deal for headline sponsorship with James Cropper, a prestige paper innovator, based in the English Lake District, with an operational reach …

Read more

The 2021 Wainwright Prize – Longlists announced for the best writing on UK nature & global conservation

June 24, 2021

Judging chairs include TV presenters Julia Bradbury & Charlotte Smith New official artist for 2021 campaign; Dorien Brouwers In association with the National Trust Prize shortlist to be revealed on 4th August, winners’ announcement on September 7th …

Read more

Winners of Wainwright Prize 2020 Announced – 16-year-old Dara McAnulty wins the Prize for Nature Writing and Benedict Macdonald wins first ever Writing on Global Conservation Prize

September 8, 2020

Diary of a Young Naturalist by Dara McAnulty is the winner of the UK nature writing prize Rebirding by Benedict Macdonald is the first ever winner of the new writing on global conservation and climate change prize  The winner for the much-loved Wainwri …

Read more