The James Cropper Wainwright Prize


Thursday 10th August 2023: The James Cropper Wainwright Prize, which was named after much-loved nature writer Alfred Wainwright and created to celebrate the connection with nature and the outdoors – today announced its 2023 shortlists in three categories.

For the first time in the prize’s 10-year history, women dominate the shortlists, with 13 female authors – including Gaia Vincent, Katherine Rundell, Keggie Carew, Kiran Millwood Hargrave and M.G. Leonard – out of the 19 shortlisted. Eleven of the eighteen shortlisted books are from independent publishers, with Walker Books recognised for three titles, accounting for half of the Children’s Prize shortlist.

Explore the Shortlists...

Scroll down to explore every title included in the James Cropper Wainwright Prize Shortlist 2023, across all three categories

Nature Writing


Writing on Conservation


Children's Nature & Conservation Writing


Winners announced soon

The winners of all three categories will be announced live on the 14th of September at the James Cropper Wainwright Prize 10th Anniversary Celebration, held in partnership with the Kendal Mountain Festival. This is the first time the James Cropper Wainwright Prize ceremony has been open to the public to watch the winners be announced live. Tickets are available from:

Make sure you are following our social channels and subscribe to our newsletter below, to never miss an update.