The Wainwright Prize

For writing on Global Conservation

The Wainwright Prize for writing on global conservation recognises books that reflect efforts in or, studies relating to conservation or climate change as it impacts nature and the outdoors. They should be narrative driven and could be global in scope. Themes of climate change and conservation are by definition more global in scope, therefore the addition of the conservation prize allowed The Wainwright Prize to recognise notable and important works that fell just outside the scope of the original prize.

The 2021 Shortlist

Under a White Sky
Elizabeth Kolbert
Net Zero
Dieter Helm
Islands of Abandonment
Cal Flyn
Rebecca Giggs
Entangled Life
Merlin Sheldrake
A Life on our Planet
David Attenborough
The 2020 Winner



Britain has all the space it needs for an epic return of its wildlife. Only six percent of our country is built upon. Contrary to popular myth, large areas of our countryside are not productively farmed but remain deserts of opportunity for both wildlife and jobs. It is time to turn things around. Praised as ‘visionary’ by conservationists and landowners alike, Rebirding sets out a compelling manifesto for restoring Britain’s wildlife, rewilding its species and restoring rural jobs – to the benefit of all.